Understanding DWI Charges in Fort Worth, TX: What to Know
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges are serious offenses. When drivers are charged with DWI Fort Worth, TX, they face steep fines and penalties, incarceration, and other consequences. Everyone must be aware of DWI charges' laws and penalties. We will provide an overview of DWI charges in Fort Worth, TX, and some tips for staying safe and avoiding charges.
The legal definition of DWI
Under Texas law, a person commits the offense of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) if he/she operates a motor vehicle in a public place while intoxicated. The State of Texas defines a person as “intoxicated” when the person has lost the DWI Lawyer Fort Worth regular use of mental or physical faculties due to alcohol, a controlled substance, any other drug, or a combination. A person can also be charged with DWI if the person is found to have an alcohol concentration in their blood of 0.08 or higher DWI Attorney Fort Worth.
Penalties for DWI
Drivers charged with DWI Lawyer Fort Worth face serious consequences. The penalties depend on the degree of the offense and the individual's prior DWI convictions. For a first offense without aggravating factors, a driver may face up to a year of jail time, a $2,000 fine, and a license suspension of up to 180 days. For a second offense, the jail time may be increased to 72 hours, the fine up to $4,000, and the license suspension up to 2 years. Additionally, a judge may require the driver to attend an alcohol awareness class, install an ignition interlock device, or pay an annual surcharge to keep the driver’s license DWI Lawyer Fort Worth.
Determining intoxication and defenses
In determining whether a person is intoxicated, police officers will usually ask the driver to submit a chemical test, such as a breath, blood, or urine test. The results of these tests will be used as evidence against the driver in court, but the driver may challenge the results in court if he/she believes them to be inaccurate. It is important to note that various defenses are available to drivers facing DWI charges. Depending on the facts of the case, the driver may be able to argue that they were not driving or that the officer did not have probable cause to stop the car in the first place. An experienced DWI Lawyer Fort Worth should be consulted to decide which defense to use and prepare for a trial.
Tips for avoiding DWI charges
The best way to avoid DWI charges is always to follow safe driving practices and be sober when operating a motor vehicle. Remember that you can be charged with DWI even if your blood alcohol concentration is lower than 0.08. If you plan to drink alcohol, always designate a sober driver, take a cab, or take public transportation back home. If a police officer stops you, never admit to guilt and always politely decline to provide a statement without consulting the counsel of an experienced DWI Lawyer Fort Worth.
Sparks Law Firm
603 E Belknap St, Fort Worth, TX 76102